Live Events 4
World Series or Bust National Championship

Roger Lens & Christopher Waszczyk Win 2022 Free Poker Network World Series or Bust National Championship ($11,000 Poker Package)

BrandonBloom • Level 19: 20,000-40,000, 40,000 ante
Roger Lens and Christopher Waszczyk

Over the weekend at Golden Nugget in downtown Las Vegas, Roger Lens and Christopher Waszczyk finished in the top two spots to win the grand prize in the 2022 Free Poker Network World Series or Bust National Championship.

They each won a $10,000 seat into the 2022 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event and $1,000 cash for their victories.

Lens is from Sioux Falls and was a South Dakota State Champion to initially qualify for this tournament. He also earned additional starting chips following his team’s deep run in the Tag Team Championship the previous night. Waszczyk qualified for the tournament by being an Illinois State Champion and started the day with the minimum amount of chips, which proved to be enough for him.

This event attracted 160 qualifiers to the Grand Ballroom at Golden Nugget Hotel and Casino in Downtown Las Vegas, and the players were all hoping to finish in the top twenty spots to win a poker package, with prizes totaling over $50,000. The third-to-twentieth-place finishers earned players a $1,500 poker package, but only Waszczyk and Lens could claim the grand prize of a $10,000 seat into the 2022 WSOP Main Event and $1,000 cash.

The Free Poker Network began in 2005 and was created by Brook Lyter. FPN allows players to earn points while playing poker in recreational leagues at bars in 17 states around the country. Players qualify for prizes and trips to major events by playing in their local FPN league.

FPN WSOB National Championship Final Table Results

1Roger LensSouth Dakota$11,000 Poker Package
2Christopher WaszczykIllinois$11,000 Poker Package
3Cody SlusherNorth Dakota$1,500 Poker Package
4Nick KehrenMinnesota$1,500 Poker Package
5Steve FugelstadNorth Dakota$1,500 Poker Package
6Wayne CorlewMinnesota$1,500 Poker Package
7Jimmy MilesNorth Dakota$1,500 Poker Package
8Joel SmithMinnesota$1,500 Poker Package
9Andrew AdamiIllinois$1,500 Poker Package

Action of the Day

After nine hours of fun poker, 160 players were narrowed down to 21 and those still contending were one elimination away from the prizes.

The bubble boy ended up being Don Mahoney, who got it in good, but lost to a turned flush. That locked up poker tournament packages for each of the remaining 20 players. About an hour later, the final table was reached and the players converged on a live-streamed final table.

Some of the notables to make the final table included Jimmy Miles and Joel Smith, both of whom are former FPN National Champions. North Dakota’s Cody Slusher also made a deep run in this tournament and has previously won the Dakota Poker Tour POY.

Andrew Adami was the first player gone at the final table when Slusher found some help with his dominated hand. Former FPN National Champions Smith and Miles fell in eighth and seventh, respectively, as they came up short in their pursuit for another victory.

Wayne Corlew hit the rail next after being left short by Slusher’s rivered flush, and Steve Fugelstad said goodbye in fifth when Lens turned a straight against him. Nick Kehren lost the rest of his chips next when getting them in against Slusher’s trips, and that set up a three-handed battle, where only two could win the grand prize.

Final Three
Final Three

In three-handed play, Lens mostly looked to be the clear leader and it appeared likely to be between Waszczyk and Slusher on who would be the first eliminated. Eventually, Slusher was willing to risk his stack with ace-queen against Lens’ ten-four. Unfortunately for Slusher, a ten appeared on the flop and he failed to improve, eliminating him in third, which was still good for the $1,500 poker package.

Lens and Waszczyk rejoiced and celebrated with their rails, as the qualifier-only tournament resulted in each of them getting $1,000 cash and punching their ticket into the 2022 World Series of Poker Main Event, where they may potentially play for millions of dollars thanks to the Free Poker Network.

Christopher Waszczyk
Christopher Waszczyk

Congratulations to all of the winners in this year's Free Poker Network World Series or Bust National Championship!

Tags: Andrew AdamiChristopher WaszczykCody SlusherJimmy MilesJoel SmithRoger LensSteve FugelstadWayne Corlew