Live Events 1
Event #84: $50,000 Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller

A WSOP Millionaire Will Be Crowned Today in Event #84: $50,000 Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller

Josh Arieh

The stars of the poker world came out for Event #84: $50,000 Pot-Limit Omaha High Roller and, when Day 2 resumes at 2 p.m. PST today, one of them will walk away with a WSOP bracelet and $1 million richer.

Leading the 34 survivors is Laszlo Bujtas of Hungary. The 2018 WSOP Europe runner-up ran his 300,000 starting stack up to 1,980,000 on Day 1 as he looks for his first career bracelet. But right behind him are plenty of past bracelet winners, including Ben Lamb (1,755,000), Alexander Petersen (1,355,000), current Player of the Year leader Josh Arieh (1,355,000), and Jared Bleznick (1,270,000).

Daniel Negreanu didn’t last long on his first entry into this event, but he made the most of his second bullet, bagging 1,125,000 for a top-10 stack heading into Day 2. Jeremy Ausmus (1,125,000) and PPC champion Dan “Jungleman” Cates (1,045,000) also found their way near the top of the leaderboard.

Ole Schemion will try to pull off a feat that seems impossible: win a WSOP bracelet on consecutive days, something that hasn’t been done since Phil Hellmuth in 1993. The German high roller, who won the Poker Hall of Fame Bounty event yesterday, jumped right into this event and takes a stack of 400,000 into Day 2.

Scott Seiver (1,070,000), Chance Kornuth (625,000), Anthony Zinno (420,000), Hellmuth (365,000), and Shaun Deeb (320,000) are also returning today for a chance to add another bracelet to their collection.

A total of 85 players entered the event, creating a prize pool of $4,069,375. The top 13 players will finish in the money, with the winner earning $1,188,918. The plan for today is to play down to a new champion. Blinds will begin in Level 16 at 10,000-15,000, with a 15,000 big blind ante.

As the 2021 WSOP winds down, PokerNews will be tableside throughout the day as a new WSOP millionaire is made.

Tags: Alexander PetersenAnthony ZinnoBen LambChance KornuthDaniel NegreanuJared BleznickJeremy AusmusJosh AriehLaszlo BujtasOle SchemionPhil HellmuthScott SeiverShaun Deeb