World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

Aussie Millions, Event #3: Simon Morris Snatches the Title

Aussie Millions, Event #3: Simon Morris Snatches the Title 0001

When registration closed yesterday for the third 2010 Aussie Millions event, a $1,100 limit hold'em event, 90 players dreamed of sitting in the winner's circle, but only Simon Morris was able to make that dream a reality. Morris, who came into the day as the chip leader, took home $25,650 AUD for his efforts.

Sitting with 112,000 while his opponents mostly hovered around the 50,000 range to start the final table, Morris' biggest challenge was David Steicke, one of the most dangerous men on the felt in the Asia-Pacific region.

Steicke began the day with 33,000 and was certainly one of the shorter stacks, but it wasn't long before he became a serious threat. With six players remaining, Steicke made his move: heads up to the {10-Diamonds}{2-Spades}{10-Hearts} flop. After a raise from Steicke preflop, Morris fired out 5,000 and Steicke called. The {8-Diamonds} hit the turn and Steicke called the 10,000-chip bet from Morris. The {6-Hearts} hit the river, and both players checked. Morris missed with the {9-Diamonds}{5-Diamonds}, and Steicke's big slick took down the pot and gave him the temporary chip lead.

Steicke's fall from grace was rather quick, however. After both Jan Suchanek and Simon Morris doubled through Steicke a couple of times each, he found himself as one of the shorter stacks. Morris finished off the job by raising with {k-Diamonds}{j-Hearts} only to see Steicke move all-in for less than a full bet more with {10-Hearts}{9-Clubs}. The board ran out {6-Spades}{8-Spades}{j-Spades}{5-Spades}{2-Hearts}, eliminating Steicke in fourth place, which earned him $9,000 AUD.

Once Steicke was eliminated, play was smooth sailing for Morris, who said he "ran well," as he steamrolled his remaining opponents. Morris didn't lose a big pot heads up and lost very few of the minor ones on his way to finishing off his opponents for this limit hold'em event.

Final Table Results:

1. Simon Morris - $25,650 AUD
2. Steve Krmpotic - $18,000 AUD
3. Jan Suchanek - $12,600 AUD
4. David Steicke -$9,000 AUD
5. Jim Sachinidis - $7,650 AUD
6. Amit Sheth - $6,300 AUD
7. Kerry Stead - $4,950 AUD
8. Josh Wilson - $3,600 AUD
9. Ciaran Carter - $2,250 AUD

Stay tuned for our continued coverage of the 2010 Aussie Millions. Also be sure to follow us on Twitter, and Facebook.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories