Aussie Millions Postponed "For Time Being," Crown Resorts Exploring Options

Aussie Millions

Amid reports that the Aussie Millions may not be returning this year, Crown Resorts has confirmed that the iconic poker stop "has been postponed for the time being."

However, the Australian gambling giant also acknowledged the massive role Aussie Millions has had on poker history and vowed to work with stakeholders to bring the festival back.

“Our highly acclaimed Aussie Millions Poker Championship is an iconic part of poker history and brings some of the world’s most renowned players to Crown Melbourne," a Crown Resorts spokesman said in a press release. "We are continuing to work with a range of stakeholders on new ways to bring the global poker community together and look forward to sharing more on the Aussie Millions soon.”

Read about the 2020 Aussie Millions Main Event

Woes Continue for Crown Resorts

While the announcement from Crown Resorts is a disappointing one, it is hardly surprising. Earlier this month, a Crown Poker representative replied to a Facebook comment on the Crown Poker page and noted that "poker tournaments will no longer be running at Crown."

That Facebook comment followed months of silence about the future of the Aussie Millions, long considered one of the most prestigious stops on the international poker circuit.

The last Aussie Millions took place in 2020 before the 2021 and 2022 festivals were postponed amid COVID-19 closures and concerns.

2020 Aussie Millions Main Event
2020 Aussie Millions Main Event

In that same period, Crown Resorts underwent a two-year investigation that ended with regulators declaring the gambling company unfit to hold a casino operating license for its various Australian properties.

Crown Resorts was allowed to continue operating and underwent several changes and reforms, including implementing a brand-new Board of Directors and changes to the way the company operates.

Naturally, these legal difficulties have marked trouble for the Aussie Millions. And "as a result of the ongoing discussions," Crown Resorts made the official decision to postpone the 2023 festival.

Uncertain Future for Iconic Poker Stop

The Aussie Millions festival — defined by massive stakes, balmy weather and luxurious beaches — dates back to 1998 when Alex Horowitz won what was then the AU$1,000 Australian Poker Championships for AU$25,900, as PokerNews recounted in a blog post at the 2015 Aussie Millions.

While the first event only drew 74 entries, the festival grew in popularity and eventually rebranded as the Aussie Millions as it switched to a No-Limit Hold'em format and had the buy-in upped to AU$10,000. Jamil Dia won was the first player to become a millionaire at the festival when he took down the 2005 Aussie Millions for AU$1 million.

Gus Hansen
Gus Hansen

The biggest-ever Aussie Millions prize of AU$1.7 million went to Alexander Kostritsyn in 2008 when he won the Main Event. The previous year, Gus Hansen took down the event for AU$1.5 million and documented his stellar tournament run in the proverbial poker book Every Hand Revealed.

Later winners of the Aussie Millions include Ari Engel (2016 - $1.1 million), Toby Lewis (2018 - $1.2 million) and the infamous Bryn Kenney (2018 - $914,616).

Ari Engel
Ari Engel won the 2016 Aussie Millions Main Event

PokerNews will continue monitoring the status of the Aussie Millions festival. A full list of Aussie Millions winners is available in the table below.

All Aussie Millions Winners

YearBuy-in (AUD)EntrantsPrize pool (AUD)ChampionPrize (AUD)Prize (USD)
2020$10,600820$8,200,000Vincent Wan$1,318,000$910,447
2019$10,600822$8,220,000Bryn Kenney$1,272,598$914,616
2018$10,600800$8,000,000Toby Lewis$1,458,198$1,178,513
2017$10,600725$7,250,000Shurane Vijayaram$1,600,000$1,208,367
2016$10,600732$7,320,000Ari Engel$1,600,000$1,120,110
2015$10,600648$6,480,000Aristomenis Stavropoulos$1,385,500$1,094,737
2014$10,600668$6,680,000Ami Barer$1,600,000$1,399,739
2013$10,600629$6,290,000Mervin Chan$1,600,000$1,689,118
2012$10,600659$6,590,000Oliver Speidel$1,600,000$1,646,158
2011$10,600721$7,210,000David Gorr$2,000,000$1,978,044
2010$10,600746$7,460,000Tyron Krost$2,000,000$1,845,921
2009$10,600681$6,810,000Stewart Scott$2,000,000$1,420,737
2008$10,600780$7,758,500Alexander Kostritsyn$1,650,000$1,450,396
2007$10,600747$7,470,000Gus Hansen$1,500,000$1,192,919
2006$10,600418$4,180,000Lee Nelson$1,295,800$949,694
2005$10,600263$2,630,000Jamil Dia$1,000,000$777,442
2004$10,600133$1,330,000Tony Bloom$426,500$964,296
2003$5,000122$1,220,000Peter Costa$394,870$221,862
2002$1,50066$330,000John Maver$150,000$78,030
2001$1,500101$151,500Sam Korman$53,025$28,368
2000$1,500109$173,500Leo Boxell$65,225$38,483
1999$1,000109$109,000Milo Nadalin$38,150$24,801
1998$1,00074$74,000Alex Horowitz$25,900$15,693
  • Read the latest about the uncertain future of the iconic Aussie Millions poker festival in Australia.

Name Surname
Editor & Live Reporter U.S.

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

Vincent "Wonky" Wan Wins 2020 Aussie Millions Main Event; Seidel Fifth Vincent "Wonky" Wan Wins 2020 Aussie Millions Main Event; Seidel Fifth