World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

2015 MSPT Potawatomi Casino Day 1a: David To Bags Big Lead Among 42 Survivors

David To
  • Day 1a of the 2015 @msptpoker Potawatomi drew 246 players, but by the end of the night just 42 remained.

Mid-States Poker Tour Potawatomi kicked off Friday with the tour's second stop of the year in Milwaukee, and David To bulldozed through Day 1a, the first of two starting flights, to bag 515,000. That's by far enough to top the 42 surviving players out of the 246 who took part in the 14-level day.

Jerry Gumila (303,500), Jack Torcolese (249,500), and former MSPT runner-up Thomas Peebles (223,000) also bagged healthy stacks.

Top 10 Day 1a Chip Counts

1David To515,000
2Jerry Gumila303,500
3Jack Torcolese249,500
4Thomas Peebles223,000
5Allen Haupert193,500
6Paul Elfelt187,500
7Matt Medvecz167,500
8Andrew Stott156,000
9Byron Ziebell154,000
10Leonard Lewandowski146,000

To already had a solid stack in Level 13 (1,000/2,000/300) when a player moved all in for 34,400 in middle position and To shoved over that in the cutoff with a stack that covered the table. The big blind had about 50,000 and called off with the {a-Hearts}{j-Hearts}. To had it dominated with the {a-Diamonds}{q-Hearts} and the third player held the {10-Hearts}{10-Clubs}. To flopped a queen to score the double knockout and extend his chip lead.

Then, To finished the night strong in one of the last hands when three players saw a {k-Diamonds}{6-Diamonds}{a-Diamonds} flop. Action checked to Jason Seefeld, who bet 10,000 on the button. To made it 27,000 in the big blind, and Seefeld came back over the top with 80,000 after the third player folded. To put Seefeld all in for 53,000 more and the latter called with the {a-Hearts}{q-Diamonds}. To had flopped a flush with {8-Diamonds}{7-Diamonds} and held.

Other players to punch Day 2 tickets included Brett Reichard (143,500), Rodger Johnson (98,000), Jason Seitz (69,000), and Yossi Azulay (39,500).

Notable runners to bust were Jonathan Dimatteo, Nick Kost, "DQ" Dan Hendrickson, Ravi Raghavan, Josh Reichard, Mark Kroon, Prince Gaspard, Mike Ross, last year's champ Jason Mirza, and MSPT Team Pros Blake Bohn, Matt Alexander, and Matt Kirby.

Those players will have another shot on Day 1b, which kicks off at 4 p.m. Saturday. You can follow action from that event in our dedicated live blog.

Want to stay atop all the latest in the poker world? If so, make sure to get PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and find us on both Facebook and Google+!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories