World Series of Poker Europe Coolbet Open

2014 APPT Manila Main Event Day 2: Michael Guzzardi Leads Final 11

Mike Guzzardi

Day 2 of the APPT Season 8 Manila Main Event was action packed as the remaining field of 95 was whittled down to only 11.

The money bubble burst midway through the day when Renato Villanueva ran queens into Daniel Giang's aces to finish 29th. Team PokerStars Pro Celina Lin and defending APPT Philippines champ Jaekyung 'Simba' Sim finished short of the money, as did start-of-day chip leader Seung Soo Jeon.

The day truly belonged to 2008 World Series of Poker final table participant Michael Guzzardi, who took the chip lead in the event's 13th level and didn't really look back, busting player after player on the way to building a 1.512 million chip stack and massive lead heading into Monday's final day.

But with PHP 3,472,000 on the line for first, no one expects the other 10 players coming back with stacks to give up without a fight.

The closest player to Guzzardi is Thanh Ha Duong, sitting on some 762,000, while bubble buster Giang holds 528,000.

The rest of the list includes Day 1a chip leader Daniel Belov, Sameer Rattonsey, Mike Takayama, Andreas Rauh, Rajeev Kanjani, Hiroshi Naito, Bernardo Angeles and last woman standing Maria Bernadette Lina.

Play will resume at 2 p.m. Monday and play down to a APPT 8 Manila champion and of course, the PokerNews Live Reporting team will be on hand for all the action from beginning to end.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook now!

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories