$100,000 Challenge

Who Will Become the Next 2013 Aussie Millions $100,000 Challenge Champion?

Dan Shak looks to win the $100,000 Challenge for a second time.

Welcome back to the 2013 Aussie Millions $100,000 Challenge. Yesterday, 21 players took to the felt for nearly 10 levels of play. Andrew Robl was the first to bust from that field, but he opted to exercise his re-entry option (the only one to do so). That brought the total field to 22 entries, which created a prize pool of A$1,957,000, but by the night only seven remained. Of that four will get paid, with the winner taking home a smooth A$1,000,000. The man best position to capture that prize is veteran high roller Masa Kagawa, who starts the day with 695,000.

Hot on his heels is Igor Kurganov, who scored a double elimination last night’s last hand to send both Chris “Genius28” Lee and Winfred Yu home as final table bubble boys. Both he and Kagawa will be joined by Robl, who made the most of his second bullet; PCA $25,000 High Roller champ Vanessa Selbst; online star Niklas “ragen70” Heinecker; the 2010 champ of this event, Dan Shak; and the ever-dangerous German, Tobias Reinkemeier.

1Dan Shak435,000
2Vanessa Selbst136,000
3Igor Kurganov563,000
4Masa Kagawa695,000
5Tobias Reinkemeier160,000
6Andrew Robl129,000
7Niklas “ragen70” Heinecker85,000

Lynn Gilmartin introduces our final seven:

Not everyone was fortunate enough to make it through to Day 2. Among those who have been eliminated from this tournament are Fabian Quoss, Jason Pritchard, John Juanda, Jason Mercier, Tony Bloom, Eric Liu, Sam Trickett, Gus Hansen, Philipp Gruissem and Patrik Antonius.

Seven players are still in contention, but only four of them will earn a payday as follows: 1st-A$1,000,000; 2nd-A$610,000; 3rd-A$320,000; and 4th-A$237,000. Who will add their name to this prestigious list of champions (click name to learn more about their victory):

YearWinnerPrizeNo. of EntriesPrize Pool
2012Dan SmithA$1,012,00022A$2,200,000
2011Sam TrickettA$1,525,00038A$3,800,000
2010Dan ShakA$1,200,00024A$2,400,000
2009David SteickeA$1,200,00023A$2,300,000
2008Howard LedererA$1,250,00025A$2,500,000
2007Erick LindgrenA$1,000,00018A$1,800,000

Day 2 of the 2013 Aussie Millions $100,000 Challenge will kick off at 14:00 EDT (22:00 EST), which is about half an hour from now. Stay tuned to PokerNews all the latest and greatest from that event as well as Day 1b of the A$10,000 Main Event.