Event #4: $1,150 Pot-Limit Omaha

Japan's Yuki Ko Wins Event #4: $1,150 Pot-Limit Omaha For $54,500

MartyDerby • Level 23: 12,000-24,000, 0 ante
Yuki Ko

Yuki Ko captured the fourth event on the 2016 Aussie Millions Poker Championship schedule on Tuesday, defeating a final table that included 2003 Aussie Millions Main Event champion Peter Costa.

Costa wound up third and Ko went on to beat Ilias Sagias heads up to earn the Event #4: $1,150 Pot-Limit Omaha title, an exclusive LK Boutique championship ring and a $54,500 first-place prize.

The final table began at half past twelve on Tuesday with nine players remaining and Aussie Mostafa Haidary leading.

Costa was bringing up the rear, but managed to survive two all in pots early, including chopping a big three-way hand with Kiwi Roger Swolf that saw Swolf take over the chip lead.

Jens Lakemeier was the first player sent packing, getting it in with kings on a board with two aces, and fellow German Paul Hoefer was eliminated eighth in a massive three-way pot that saw Costa triple up into contention.

Panayotis Flourentzou took seventh when he ran an overpair into Sagias' set and Swolf continued to hold the lead until Costa took it from him, making a full house over his trips.

Haidary cracked Andrian Chin's aces to double up and Chin was soon sent home sixth before Haidary doubled through Costa and brought him back down to earth.

Ko started moving up the ladder when he busted Swolf fifth, the latter getting it in with a pair and a draw that could not beat Ko's small set. He also ended Haidary's tournament in fourth and started heads up play with a 3:1 chip lead when he made yet another full house, cracking Costa's queens to send the "Silver Fox" home third.

Sagias grabbed the momentum when heads-up started and pulled back to even. It went back and forth for a while until Saigas grabbed the lead, making a flush to double through Ko.

Ko then pulled back into a commanding lead doubling through with a straight against a set of aces and finally made a set of deuces to crack Sagias' aces and secure his first Aussie Millions win.

Tags: Andrian ChinIlias SagiasJens LakemeierMostafa HaidaryPanayotis FlourentzouPaul HoeferPeter CostaRoger SwolfYuki Ko