Lone Star Poker Series Wraps as Oziel Zuniga Takes Down Main Event Title

Oziel Zuniga

On Sunday, the inaugural Lone Star Poker Series wrapped up at Prime Social Club in Houston, Texas. The series, which offered more than $300,000 in guaranteed prize pools over 16 tournaments, proved to be a big success and attracted notable players including World Series of Poker bracelet winners Anthony Zinno and Rep Porter, as well as five-time WSOP Circuit ring winner Ray Henson and Twitch streamer Alex "AlexOptional" Green.

On Sunday night, Oziel Zuniga emerged as the inaugural Lone Star Poker Series Main Event champion and finished $45,960 richer after two long days of play and a three-way deal. The Main Event attracted 660 entries and offered up a $330,000 prize pool.

Understandably, Zuniga was grinning ear to ear after the win: "I was exhausted when I walked in tonight. I was out too late partying last night. I have done nothing but drink coffee all day long."

Coffee was the key to keeping Zuniga tuned in and ready to play. He was caught bluffing when he jammed with deuce-three suited while four-handed but he made a pair and held against Charlie Dawson. Throughout the final hour or so of play, Zuniga would loudly say "deuce-trey" as his rallying cry.

Zuniga took home the $45,960 top prize, an engraved money clip, and the specially-designed sterling silver trophy belt buckle from Max Lang Belts and Buckles.

Lone Star Poker Series Main Event Final Table Results

1Oziel Zuniga$45,960*
2Long Nguyen$40,365*
3Kent Kvaal$42,960*
4Charlie Dawson$21,910
5Min Zhang$16,510
6Andrew Dartez$12,580
7Raymond Martin$9,710
8Justin Phillips$7,580
9Edward Sebesta$5,990

*Denotes three-handed deal.

Others to cash the tournament were Flavio Palalon (12th - $4,800), Ray Henson (15th - $3,190), Lisa Fleishman (17th - $2,650), Josh Burkhalter (26th - $1,910), Blake Barousse (28th - $1,910), Chris Staats (29th - $1,910), Hayden Fortini (31st - $1,910), Paul Strohm (33rd - $1,650), and William Lahti (37th - $1,650).

It was an especially brutal Day 2 for Lahti, who began the day as chip leader. He and Long Nguyen engaged in a preflop raising war that resulted in Lahti getting his stack in with pocket kings only to see Nguyen roll over aces. The board ran out seven-high and Lahti took an unexpected early exit from the tournament.

William Lahti
William Lahti

Lone Star Poker Series Winners

TournamentWinnerPrizeEntrantsPrize Pool
$360 NLH Kickoff EventLisa Fleishman$30,820555$166,500
$400 NLHMin Zhang$9,65088$29,920
$250 NLH TurboDerrick Contreras$2,64031$6,200
$360 NLHRamon Chavez$5,99063$18,900
$360 Triple Triple DrawRobert Valden$4,03036$10,800
$250 NLH TurboSebastiaan F De$2,50023$5,000
$360 NLH BountyLaura Hoppe$5,41084$25,200
$360 PLO8Marshall Silvestein$3,26053$15,900
$250 NLH TurboJason Lang$2,60031$6,200
$250 NLHChy Ling$6,480108$21,600
$360 HORSEMatthew Rasco$2,40048$14,400
$360 PLO BountryOscar Montemayor$3,81056$16,800
$400 NLH Jacked StackJosh Burkhalter$11,950119$40,460
$500 PLO ChampionshipMehmet Cetinkaya$10,77085$36,550
$580 Main EventOziel Zuniga$45,960660$330,000
  • Oziel Zuniga closed out the inaugural @LSPokerSeries at @PrimeSocialTX by winning Main Event for $46K

Name Surname
Community Manager
Name Surname
Executive Editor U.S.

Executive Editor US, PokerNews Podcast co-host & 2013 WSOP Bracelet Winner.

More Stories

Other Stories

Recommended for you

PokerNews Op-Ed: Poker in Houston Headed Into the Lone Star Poker Series PokerNews Op-Ed: Poker in Houston Headed Into the Lone Star Poker Series