Live Events 2
A$10,600 Main Event

Defending Champion Bryn Kenney Advances in Aussie Millions Main Event

will_shill • Level 7: 300-600, 600 ante
Bryn Kenney

This year's Aussie Millions Main Event stands on the cusp of history, with the total number of entrants standing at 803. With late registration open until the start of Day 2, and with 25 joining at that stage last year, the 2019 record of 822 seems well within reach.

Today saw 379 players enter, equalling the record for the biggest single Main Event flight in the tournament's history, with around 185 players making it through to Day 2 which starts at 12:30 p.m. local time on January 20.

Aussie Millions Main Event History

YearEntriesDay 1aDay 1bDay 1cDay 2

*denotes registration still open until start of Day 2

2020 Aussie Millions Main Event
2020 Aussie Millions Main Event

With 424 players already entered after the opening flight, organizers knew not only that a big field was expected but also that they were well on their way to breaking the record. A steady stream of players throughout the day saw them break the 800 player mark in the fifth level of the day.

By the end of the seven levels that were scheduled, Kazuhiko Yotsushika appeared to bag the biggest stack, with 252,200, slightly ahead of Kahle Burns (231,700) who was another player to bag above 200,000 in chips.

Also bagging were former champions Toby Lewis (79,400) and Tyron Krost (19,200) and defending champion Bryn Kenney who ran up a stack to bag 106,300.

"I love the city," Kenney told PokerNews. "I love the tournament, plus it started the whole year for me last year. It was a great time, and it was a fun tournament. Not just because I won, but because everyone was super fun to play with."

Other players advancing to Day 2 include Erik Seidel (171,100), Dan Shak (124,600), Kristen Bicknell (111,100), Mikita Badziakouski (87,500), Timothy Adams (84,700), Steve O'Dwyer (59,000), Ben Lamb (56,000), Alexander Trevallion (52,400), Jesse Sylvia (52,000), Allen Kessler (21,200), Orpen Kisacikoglu (14,100) and Dan Smith (12,500).

Players who busted during Flight 3 included WSOP POY Rob Campbell, reigning WSOP APAC champion Scott Davies, Michael Soyza, Tsugunari Toma, Michael Dyer, Sam Greenwood and Matthias Eibinger.

Day 2 of the Aussie Millions Main Event gets underway at 12:30 p.m. on January 20, with a further five 90-minute levels scheduled. Stay tuned to PokerNews for continued live updates including the Day 2 seating draw, prizepool and payouts.

Tags: Alexander TrevallionAllen KesslerBen LambBryn KenneyDan ShakDan SmithErik SeidelJesse SylviaKahle BurnsKazuhiko YotsushikaKristen BicknellMichael DyerMichael SoyzaMikita BadziakouskiOrpen KisacikogluRob CampbellSam GreenwoodScott DaviesSteve O'DwyerToby LewisTsugunari TomaTyron Krost