2021 World Series of Poker 2021 MSPT Venetian

WSOP Main Event

The 2021 World Series of Poker Main Event starts on Thursday, November 4, 2021 and runs until Wednesday, November 17, 2021.

The tournament costs $10,000 to enter and is a freezeout, meaning players are not allowed to re-enter once they are eliminated. Players can choose from four starting flights from November 4-7.

Players who make it through either of the first two starting flights (Day 1a and 1b) will combine on Monday, November 8, 2021. Players who make it through from the other two starting flights (Day 1c and 1d) will combine on Tuesday, November 9, 2021.

The survivors from both Day 2ab and 2cd will combine for Day 3 on Wednesday, November 10, 2021.

2021 WSOP Main Event Schedule

Here is the schedule for the 2021 WSOP Main Event. Please note, the exact schedule for Day 4-10 is yet to be released. The schedule below is based on the 2019 WSOP Main Event structure.

  • Day 1a - Thursday, November 4, 2021
  • Day 1b - Friday, November 5, 2021
  • Day 1c - Saturday, November 6, 2021
  • Day 1d - Sunday, November 7, 2021
  • Day 2ab - Monday, November 8, 2021
  • Day 2cd - Tuesday, November 9, 2021
  • Day 3 - Wednesday, November 10, 2021
  • Day 4 - Thursday, November 11, 2021
  • Day 5 - Friday, November 12, 2021
  • Day 6 - Saturday, November 13, 2021
  • Day 7 - Sunday, November 14, 2021
  • Off - Monday, November 15, 2021
  • Day 8 (FT) - Tuesday, November 16, 2021
  • Day 9 (FT) - Wednesday, November 17, 2021

Defending WSOP Main Event Champion

The defending champion of the WSOP Main Event is Argentina's Damian Salas who won the 2020 WSOP Heads-up Finale at the Rio All-Suite Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The 2019 WSOP Main Event champion was Hossein Ensan who defeated a field of 8,569 players to win $10,000,000.

WSOP Main Event Champions

20198,569Hossein EnsanGermany$10,000,000
20187,874John CynnUnited States$8,800,000
20177,221Scott BlumsteinUnited States$8,150,000
20166,737Qui NguyenUnited States$8,005,310
20156,420Joe McKeehenUnited States$7,683,346
20146,683Martin JacobsonSweden$10,000,000
20136,352Ryan RiessUnited States$8,361,570
20126,598Greg MersonUnited States$8,531,853
20116,865Pius HeinzGermany$8,715,638
20107,319Jonathan DuhamelCanada$8,944,310
20096,494Joe CadaUnited States$8,547,042
20086,844Peter EastgateDenmark$9,119,517
20076,358Jerry YangUnited States$8,250,000
20068,773Jamie GoldUnited States$12,000,000
20055,619Joe HachemAustralia$7,500,000
20042,576Greg RaymerUnited States$5,000,000
2003839Chris MoneymakerUnited States$2,500,000
2002631Robert VarkonyiUnited States$2,000,000
2001613Carlos MortensenSpain$1,500,000
2000512Chris FergusonUnited States$1,500,000
1999393Noel FurlongIreland$1,000,000
1998350Scotty NguyenVietnam$1,000,000
1997312Stu UngarUnited States$1,000,000
1996295Huck SeedUnited States$1,000,000
1995273Dan HarringtonUnited States$1,000,000
1994268Russ HamiltonUnited States$1,000,000
1993220Jim BechtelUnited States$1,000,000
1992201Hamid DastmalchiIran$1,000,000
1991215Brad DaughertyUnited States$1,000,000
1990194Mansour MatloubiIran$895,000
1989178Phil HellmuthUnited States$755,000
1988167Johnny ChanUnited States$700,000
1987152Johnny ChanUnited States$625,000
1986141Berry JohnstonUnited States$570,000
1985140Bill SmithUnited States$700,000
1984132Jack KellerUnited States$660,000
1983108Tom McEvoyUnited States$540,000
1982104Jack StrausUnited States$520,000
198175Stu UngarUnited States$375,000
198073Stu UngarUnited States$385,000
197954Hal FowlerUnited States$270,000
197842Bobby BaldwinUnited States$210,000
197734Doyle BrunsonUnited States$340,000
197622Doyle BrunsonUnited States$220,000
197521Brian RobertsUnited States$210,000
197416Johnny MossUnited States$160,000
197313Walter PearsonUnited States$130,000
19728Thomas PrestonUnited States$80,000
19716Johnny MossUnited States$30,000
19707Johnny MossUnited StatesN/A