Now LiveEvents
PokerStars Championship Prague
New poker experience at 888poker

Join now to get $88 FREE (no deposit needed)

Join now
Double your first deposit up to $400

New players can use bonus code 'STARS400'

Join now
partypoker Cashback

Get up to 40% back every week!

Join now
€200 progressive bonus

+ a FREE Unibet Open Qualifier ticket

Join now

2009 WSOP Player of the Year Race to Include Main Event

Erick Lindgren

World Series of Poker officials confirmed today that the 2009 WSOP Player of the Year race, in a shift from 2008 and earlier years, will include the Main Event. With the change, all “open” events in the 2009 WSOP will be used to calculate 2009 Player of the Year points, excepting only the limited-entry Casino Employees, Ladies and Seniors events.

The new change likely means greater visibility for the Player of the Year honor as well, given the increased focus of this year’s television coverage on the Main Event. In 2008, the Main Event was the only “open” event not calculated into the PoY standings, with the $50,000 H.O.R.S.E. event, originally the only other open non-PoY tourney, was added into the mix early on. The 2008 PoY honors went to Erick Lindgren (pictured), who turned in a stellar series that included his first bracelet. Lindgren narrowly edged Barry Greenstein and Jacobo Fernandez for the honor. Previous Player of the Year awards have gone to Tom Schneider (2007), Jeff Madsen (2006), Allen Cunningham (2005) and Daniel Negreanu (2004).

More Stories

Related Tournaments

Related Players

Other Stories

What do you think?