PokerNews to Cover the 2013 Aussie Millions

Aussie Millions

For the seventh consecutive year, PokerNews will be providing exclusive, live updates from the Aussie Millions Poker Championship. The 2013 coverage will focus on the four marquee events: the A$10,000 Main Event, A$100,000 Challenge, A$250,000 Challenge and A$25,000 Challenge.

Beginning on Jan. 17, the 16th-annual Australian Poker Championship — better known as the Aussie Millions — will begin at the Crown Casino in Melbourne, Australia. A total of 26 tournaments ranging from a A$600 to A$250,000 buy-in will be played, and a multitude of game types will be offered, including Pot-Limit Omaha, Pot-Limit Omaha Hi/Lo, Omaha Hi/Lo, Chinese Poker, Terminator No-Limit Hold’em, H.O.R.S.E., Mix Max and 8-Game.

Although they’ve become a bit of a trend lately, the Aussie Millions were the first to introduce the six-figure tournament to the circuit schedule. The inaugural A$100,000 event was held in 2006, and the winner was John Juanda. Here’s a list of all of the winners:

2006John JuandaA$1,000,000Jeff Lisandro10
2007Erick LindgrenA$1,000,000Erik Seidel18
2008Howard LedererA$1,250,000Mark Teltscher25
2009David SteickeA$1,200,000Tony Bloom23
2010Dan ShakA$1,200,000Phil Ivey24
2011Sam TrickettA$1,525,000Tony Bloom38
2012Dan SmithA$1,012,000Mikhail Smirnov22

Beginning in 2011, the Aussie Millions also offered a A$250,000 Challenge. The tournament has only run twice, but both events created an unbelievable amount of buzz in the poker world.

2011Erik SeidelA$2,500,000Sam Trickett20
2012Phil IveyA$2,000,000Patrik Antonius16

While these two high-roller events generate a lot of excitement, the crown jewel of the Aussie Millions is the Main Event. Prior to 2003, the event was less than A$10,000, and in 1999, the event was Pot-Limit Hold’em. Since 2003, the Aussie Millions Main Event has generated a 10-year total prize pool of A$52,580,000. The winners in the five-figure buy-in era look like this:

2004Tony BloomA$426,500Jesse Jones133
2005Jamil DiaA$1,000,000Mike Simkin263
2006Lee NelsonA$1,295,800Robert Neary418
2007Gus HansenA$1,500,000Jimmy Fricke747
2008Alexander KostritsynA$1,650,000Erik Seidel780
2009Stewart ScottA$2,000,000Peter Rho681
2010Tyron KrostA$2,000,000Frederik Jensen746
2011David GorrA$2,000,000James Keys721
2012Oliver SpeidelA$1,600,000Kenneth Wong659

To relive all of the events over the past several years, check out the PokerNews Aussie Millions Live Reporting archives.

If you live outside of Australia and want to buy-in to an event at the 2013 Aussie Millions before you take off, or you simply want to save a trip to the cage, you can register for the events online. If you’re interested in playing in a satellite for any of the events, you can check out the satellite schedule here. If you’re looking to plan your trip to the beautiful Crown Casino, we suggest that you explore the Crown Experience and weigh your booking options.

Get all the latest PokerNews updates on your social media outlets. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook today!

Name Surname

More Stories

Other Stories