2019 World Series of Poker

Nominees Revealed for Inaugural Global Poker Awards

Nominees Revealed for Inaugural Global Poker Awards
  • Find out who's nominated for a Global Poker Award.

After announcing the event on March 8th, the Global Poker Index (GPI) has now announced the nominees for the inaugural Global Poker Awards.

The event, sponsored by PokerStars and broadcasted on PokerGO, will see a total of twenty trophies awarded during the ceremony on April 5th.

A nomination panel of over 130 members from around the globe has voted to determine this year’s official nominees in thirteen categories. A jury of industry representatives will select the winners.

More information about the awards can be found on globalpokerawards.com.

2018 Global Poker Awards Nominees

Justin Bonomo is nominated twice. His name is on the ballot for Tournament Performance of the Year for winning the Super High Roller Bowl IV for $5,000,000 and in the Moment of the Year category for completing the Super High Roller trifecta of SHRB China, SHRB IV, and the WSOP's One Drop event.

Lex Veldhuis also finds his name on the list of nominees twice. He's nominated in the category Streamer of the Year for his popular Twitch stream, and in the category 'Broadcaster' for his work during the 2018 PCA and Triton Poker events.

Poker media members Lance Bradley (in the Podcast category and Media Content) and Remko Rinkema (Podcast and Poker Journalist) are also nominated twice, and so is PokerNews' very own Sarah Herring, up for Podcast (PokerNews Podcast) and Poker Journalist of the Year.

Two Global Poker Award winners are already announced as Alex Foxen (GPI Player of the Year) and Kristen Bicknell (GPI Female Player of the Year) locked in their trophies at year's end.

Here's the full list of nominees:

Tournament Performance

Breakout Player

Streamer Of The Year

Vlogger Of The Year



  • Maria Ho
  • Lon McEachern
  • Nick Schulman
  • Lex Veldhuis

Poker Journalist

  • Drew Amato
  • Sarah Herring
  • Remko Rinkema
  • Christian Zetzsche

Media Content

Industry Person

  • Angelica Hael (World Poker Tour)
  • Cary Katz (Poker Central)
  • Matt Savage (WPT, TDA, more)
  • Ty Stewart (World Series of Poker)
  • Rob Yong (Dusk Till Dawn, partypoker)

Tournament Director

  • Tony Burns (Seminole Hard Rock)
  • Paul Campbell (ARIA)
  • Jack Effel (WSOP)
  • Kenny Halleart (Unibet Open)

Mid-Major Tour/Circuit

Event Of The Year

Moment Of The Year

Other Trophies to be Presented at the Global Poker Awards:

The Stars Group owns a majority shareholding in iBus Media

Be sure to complete your PokerNews experience by checking out an overview of our mobile and tablet apps here. Stay on top of the poker world from your phone with our mobile iOS and Android app, or fire up our iPad app on your tablet. You can also update your own chip counts from poker tournaments around the world with MyStack on both Android and iOS.

What do you think?

More Stories

Casino News

Other Stories